top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeagan De Weirdt

Five Favorite Foundations (and why)

Hello, hello, blog post number four! I really look forward to sitting down and writing these. I like to talk/write about makeup and this is such a fun platform to do it on. So for today, let's talk about foundations. Remember as you read through, foundations are a very personal choice and they perform better or worse based on skin type, skin prep and the primer that's used.

Note: I always use a damp beauty sponge to apply my foundation.


 

1. Giorgio Armani Beauty Luminous Silk Foundation (I was matched to shade 4)

- Pros: natural finish, luminous but not greasy looking, long wearing, doesn't settle in my smile lines too quickly

- Cons: light to medium coverage (though this is only a con for those who like a fuller coverage foundation), very pricey

- $64 for 1 oz

- This is truly my favorite daily foundation. It hurts to say it's a daily foundation but it looks so natural. I will definitely be repurchasing but might wait until I get my Sephora Rogue discount. There is a good selection of shades as well.


 

2. Urban Decay All Nighter Liquid Foundation (I have shade 2.5 but I think 2 might be a better match)

- Pros: full coverage, more on the affordable side, natural finish

- Cons: settles in my smile lines

- $40 for 1 oz

- Literally I only use one pump for my entire face. A little goes such a long way and it is definitely a full coverage foundation. It can cover up all your dark circles, blemishes and past mistakes. I do think I need to go down just half a shade from the one I have but I make the slightly darker one work. There's a good selection of shades as well.


 

3. Dior Airflash Spray Foundation (I wear color 1)

- Pros: easy application, long wearing, dewy finish, lightweight

- Cons: spray applicator (pro and a con to be honest), pricey, shade selection is severely limited

- $62 for 2.3 oz

- I didn't want to love this foundation. But here I am, two luxury foundations in my top five and honestly if I use a mixture of both of them? Oh my goodness my skin looks flawless. Expensive foundation also just feels more luxurious which shouldn't be a selling point but it kinda is. I will be repurchasing this one too *cue my wallet screaming*


 

4. Sonia Kashuk Soft Focus Satin Matte Foundation (I have shade Vanilla 02)

- Pros: affordable, long wearing, blurs imperfections

- Cons: not super long wearing, DISCONTINUED, must be set with powder, shade selection is very limited

- LITERALLY AS I WAS WRITING THIS I FOUND OUT IT'S BEEN DISCONTINUED AND I HATE LIFE. It was my favorite drugstore foundation and I still want to give it this honorable mention because maybe one day they'll bring it back. It appears it is still available on Amazon.


 

5. Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation (R250)

- Pros: wide shade selection, natural finish

- Cons: has to be set with powder, can get shiny or oily throughout the day

- $43 for 1.01 oz

- I am almost indifferent to this foundation now that I'm really thinking about it. It used to be my favorite and I've probably been through three or four bottles. I don't find myself reaching for it quite as much because my skin has changed some and I get a little oily in my t-zone throughout the day if I wear it for more than four or five hours. But not a bad foundation at all!


Alright, that concludes my little foundation review. I really didn't know that Sonia Kashuk foundation was discontinued and now I'm sad. Until next time!


<3 Meag

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page